City Council

Friday 17 May 2024

PRESENT:

Mr Shayer, in the Chair.

Councillor Ms Watkin, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Mrs Bridgeman, Coker, Cresswell, Dann, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Freeman, Gilmour, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Lowry, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Murphy, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, Ricketts, M.Smith, R.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Stevens, Taylor, Tippetts, Tofan, Tuohy and Wood.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Cuddihee, Finn, Goslin, Loveridge and Simpson

The meeting started at 9.45 am and finished at 11.23 am.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at www.plymouth.gov.uk. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

95. To Elect the Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor for the Period up to the Next Annual Meeting

Council <u>agreed</u> to elect Councillor Tina Tuohy as Lord Mayor of the City for the 2024/25 municipal year. This was proposed by Councillor Tudor Evans and seconded by Councillor Andy Lugger.

For (51)

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Mrs Bridgeman, Coker, Cresswell, Dann, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Freeman, Gilmour, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Lowry, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Murphy, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, Ricketts, M.Smith, R.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Stevens, Taylor, Tippetts, Tofan, Watkin and Wood.

Against (0)

Abstain (0)

Absent/Did Not Vote (I) Councillor Tuohy.

Council <u>agreed</u> to elect Councillor Pauline Murphy as Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the 2024/25 municipal year. This was proposed by Councillor Tina Tuohy and seconded by Councillor Andy Lugger.

For (50)

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Mrs Bridgeman, Coker, Cresswell, Dann, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Freeman, Gilmour, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Lowry, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, Ricketts, M.Smith, R.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Stevens, Taylor, Tippetts, Tofan, Watkin and Wood.

Against (0)

Abstain (0)

Absent/Did Not Vote (2) Councillors Murphy and Tuohy.

96. To appoint the Lord Mayor's Chaplain

The Lord Mayor announced the appointment of Father Appollos Mejuru as the Lord Mayor's Chaplain.

97. Presentation of Drake's Sword

Warrant Officer Steve Harvey RN presented Drake's Sword to the Lord Mayor on behalf of the Royal Navy to symbolise the key links between the Royal Navy and the City of Plymouth.

98. Vote of thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor

Council accorded to Councillor Mark Shayer the sincere thanks of the Citizens of Plymouth for the invaluable services he had rendered to the City as Lord Mayor since May 2023, and for the able manner in which he had presided over the deliberations of the Council during that period.

The Council also expressed its indebtedness to Councillor Kathy Watkin for her diligent and efficient discharge of the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor.

The motion was proposed by Councillor Andy Lugger and seconded by Councillor Bill Stevens.

For (51)

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Blight, Briars-Delve, Mrs Bridgeman, Coker, Cresswell, Dann, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Freeman, Gilmour, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Lowry, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Murphy, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, Ricketts, M.Smith, R.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Stevens, Taylor, Tippetts, Tofan, Tuohy, Watkin and Wood.

Against (0)

Abstain (I)
Councillor Mrs Beer.

Absent/Did Not Vote (0)

99. To note the Leader of the City Council

Council <u>agreed</u> to note the continuation of Councillor Tudor Evans OBE for the 2024/25 municipal year as Leader of the Council

100. To note the Membership of the Cabinet

The Council <u>agreed</u> to note the report which advised that the Cabinet would comprise of the following members:

- Councillor Jemima Laing Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Children's Social Care, Culture and Communications.
- Councillor Mary Aspinall Cabinet Member for Health and Adult Social Care.
- Councillor Sally Haydon Cabinet Member for Community Safety, Libraries, Events, Cemeteries & Crematoria.
- Councillor Chris Penberthy Cabinet Member for Housing, Cooperative Development and Communities.
- Councillor Sally Cresswell Cabinet Member for Education, Skills and Apprenticeships.
- Councillor Mark Lowry Cabinet Member for Finance.
- Councillor Mark Coker Cabinet Member for Strategic Planning and Transport.
- Councillor Tom Briars-Delve Cabinet Member for Environment and Climate Change.
- Councillor Sue Dann Cabinet Member for Customer Services, Sport, Leisure, Human Resources and Organisational Development.

101. To agree changes to Part D of the Constitution (Scrutiny Arrangements)

The Council <u>agreed</u> to amend the constitution in reference to:

I. the changes to Article 7 and Part D of the Constitution in relation to the terms of reference for the Overview and Scrutiny Function.

The motion was proposed by Councillor Tina Tuohy and seconded by Councillor Neil Hendy.

For (51)

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Mrs Bridgeman, Coker, Cresswell, Dann, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Freeman, Gilmour, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Lowry, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Murphy, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, Ricketts, M.Smith, R.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Stevens, Taylor, Tippetts, Tofan, Watkin and Wood.

Against (0)

Abstain (0)

Absent/Did Not Vote (I) Councillor Tuohy.

102. To agree committees and their members and appoint Chairs and Vice Chairs

Council <u>agreed</u> to approve the appointments to committees, including the Chairs and Vice-Chairs as set out in the report.

The motion was proposed by Councillor Tina Tuohy and seconded by Councillor Neil Hendy.

For (50)

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Mrs Bridgeman, Coker, Cresswell, Dann, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Freeman, Gilmour, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Lowry, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Murphy, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, M.Smith, R.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Stevens, Taylor, Tippetts, Tofan, Watkin and Wood.

Against (0)

Abstain (1)

Councillor Ricketts.

Absent/Did Not Vote (I)

Councillor Tuohy

103. To nominate or appoint representatives to outside bodies

Council <u>agreed</u> to approve the nominations to outside bodies as set out in the report.

The motion was proposed by Councillor Tina Tuohy and seconded by Councillor Neil Hendy.

For (50)

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Mrs Bridgeman, Coker, Cresswell, Dann, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Freeman, Gilmour, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Lowry, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Murphy, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, M.Smith, R.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Stevens, Taylor, Tippetts, Tofan, Watkin and Wood.

Against (0)

Abstain (1)

Councillor Ricketts

Absent/Did Not Vote (I) Councillor Tuohy